“Kate”

2006/07/12

Tears from a broken eye
Hit the face and scrawl on coffee cups
Words of outer rage and sore
Speaking of her ambiance and luck
Forces she resisted like a stone
Stories she restrained
And melted down

Too many times I lived without my girl
Too many times resigned from her name
Kate, that’s the kiss – that’s the frame
I loved her to explain

Shades from a passing car
Form her hips and dance on sister road
Foam of better days ahead
Speaking of her reasoning and worlds
Forces she resisted like a cloud
Stories she restrained
And mixed with sound

Too many times I lived without my girl
Too many times resigned from her name
Kate, that’s the kiss – that’s the frame
I loved her to explain

Wisdom from a hidden touch
Wraps me up and tempts me to begin
Yet another white romance
Bearing highlights of the words I’ll sing
Forces she resisted like a wind
Stories she restrained
And put on wings
Higher than most anything I’ll see
And softer than the streets

Too many times I lived without my girl
Too many times resigned from her name
Kate, that’s the kiss – that’s the frame
I loved her to explain

Copyright © 2006 by A.J. Kaufmann. All rights reserved.