“That Poznan Guy”

He used to love me (drink me)
now he likes me
takes me shopping for
books, records tells me about his streets – pies on giraffe block, one he
was scared of much
as child
he writes another poem
we bought a nice pop
couple

I think he just kept 3 notebooks
I think I’ve read them
all, & I think
I understand, but now he tells me about his gift – child dancer in a folk troupe, then
teen actor, then
well, lost in Kazimierz
madhouse,
which once was a funky
district

angels were drunk, he told me, & forgot
to spank the doctors
-insanity warden on french fries-

but this is Poznan, he tells me, this is
the richer Poland – I’m happy the books are so
cheap here, so we buy a heavy bag
& I still can afford
shoes
& a handbag
he carries it all
I smoke

everybody knows him
but he never says
hello – he’s just too
busy

he rarely writes about it all
town omits him in vision
& he omits everything
that wasn’t kind to him
I think that’s a lot of
faces

Yesterday he wrote:
“Uznajac Rynek i Cytadele
na reszte kladzie gruba bele.”
after reading some older friend of his
I think it means:
I only care for the Market and the Citadel
the rest I don’t give a flying fuck
about.